Colorful Slow Cooker Stuffed Peppers

 

I’m always looking for an easy recipe to throw together on a weekday and this one definitely fit the bill. I knew I wanted stuffed peppers, but also knew that with my schedule this week I would have to take advantage of my slow cooker. A quick google search told me that other people have indeed made stuffed peppers in their crock pots, and from there I created my own version, experimenting along the way. The result was quite delicious.

Here’s what I did: The night before, I prepared the filling. I cooked one cup of quinoa as directed on the back of the package, and then sauteed a couple veggies that I had on hand. I used onion, garlic, green onion, and more bell pepper, which tasted fine, but I wish I had some mushrooms in the fridge to add in as well. I mixed the sauteed veggies with the quinoa and added a few dashes of oregano and salt. I put the mixture in the fridge until morning.

The next morning, I cut off the tops of four peppers (one of each color) and scooped out the insides. Then I stuffed the quinoa mixture into each pepper and placed them in my slow cooker. I took a can of tomatoes and poured it over the peppers and into the slow cooker as well. I really had wanted to use a jar of tomato sauce but, alas, the pantry was bare. The canned tomatoes worked just fine with a little water added to make sure there was enough liquid in the pot. I put the lid on the cooker and set it on low for about four to five hours. The peppers turned out perfectly tender and quite delicious. I ate mine with a little bit of salsa drizzled on top.

Leave a comment