Vegan Creamed Corn

I was craving comfort food this past weekend and originally had my heart set on making a green bean casserole, but my plans were foiled by a rotten bag of green beans in my fridge. I discovered though that I had plenty of corn and decided to figure out a way to make vegan creamed corn, obviously without the cream. I had soaked some raw cashews overnight in preparation for the green bean casserole and I figured that they would make a good cream-like base for the corn.

To make the faux cream sauce, I blended about 1 cup of the soaked raw cashews with a little less than 1 cup water until smooth and creamy. I then added a few dashes each of garlic powder, nutritional yeast, and salt for flavor and blended those in too. I then prepared the corn by boiling it and then cutting it off the cob. In an oven safe dish, I mixed the sauce and corn and baked at 350 degrees for about 45 to 60 minutes, until the sauce firmed up a bit.

I really wasn’t sure how this recipe would turn out, as it really was an experiment, but it turned out delicious. To dairy eaters it may not taste like real cheese and cream, but for someone like me who does not eat dairy, it really fulfilled my craving for something rich and satisfying! And the non-vegans I served it to loved it as well!

3 thoughts on “Vegan Creamed Corn

    • Yes, it does remind me of corn chowder. I actually was planning on trying to come up with a vegan corn chowder recipe. We’ll see how it turns out.

  1. Pingback: Mexican Corn Casserole | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen

Leave a comment